Wednesday, August 27, 2014 AddThis Social Bookmark Button En Español - http://www.servir.gov/
Home United We Serve National Service
National Service Blog - Archive

Saluting Our Heroes: How to Serve on September 11th

by Samantha Jo Warfield

With the 10th anniversary of September 11th, 2001 approaching, memories of the tragic events that occurred that day feel particularly powerful. For most Americans, the anniversary will always be full of history, emotion, and reflection but 10 years later it's become a symbol for the spirit of unity that America demonstrated in the aftermath.

Over the last decade, that same spirit has led to a national movement of service and compassion in tribute to those who were lost and those who rose up in service. An idea that originated from the 9/11 families

themselves, the day became official when it was designated by the bipartisan 2009 Edward M. Kennedy Serve America Act as the September 11th National Day of Service and Remembrance.

Tasked with leading the day, the Corporation for National and Community Service is honored to continue the work started by those inspired to turn a day of tragedy into a day of good by collaborating with those organizations that have been there since the beginning.

This year, everyone from President Obama and First Lady Michelle Obama to actors Samuel L. Jackson and Mariska Hargitay have made commitments to honor September 11th heroes by serving. Will you join them?

Here are a few ways to get involved.

Serve

Use serve.gov to find a volunteer project on or around September 11th in your neighborhood. Just plug in your zip code and the keyword “September 11." You can also find virtual opportunities and toolkits to start your own projects.

Commit

MyGoodDeed has asked Americans to make a commitment to join together and do something good as a positive way to pay tribute to all those affected by the events of 9/11. Join the tens of thousands of Americans that have pledged to do good by posting your own “I Will” tribute.

Remember

At 1:00 PM EDT (12:00 CDT, 11:00 MDT, 10:00 PDT) on September 11th, for one minute, cease all activity and reflect on the heroes and compassion that arose in the aftermath of the 9/11 attacks. At that time, businesses, houses of worships, fire and police departments, and others will ring bells and sound sirens as America observes this Moment of Remembrance.

Stay in Touch

Follow us on the following social networks, to ensure that you are always up to date!

Tell us how we're doing: serviceinitiative@cns.gov

National Service websites:

Back to Top